Daily Devotional On The Beatitudes

Daily Devotional On The Beatitudes


The Beatitudes comprise Matthew 5:3-11 and are prefaced with the word “BLESSED”.

To understand the Beatitudes let start with this definition: The Latin beatus is the basis of the English “beatitude,” meaning “to be fortunate,” “to be happy.” So when we read the beatitudes we can interject the words “to be fortunate” or “to be happy” in place of blessed. I like those two phrases because these are blessings that come to those who have faith in Jesus Christ.

3 Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

4 Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

5 Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.

6 Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

7 Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.

8 Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.

9 Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.

10 Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

11 Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake.

Those who have faith in Jesus Christ will be fortunate or happy if they are poor in spirit. They will be rewarded in the Kingdom of Heaven. Those who are faithful will be comforted when they mourn. This passage of scripture can be seen as a check list of rewards awaiting the faithful disciples of Jesus Christ. Truly great blessings to look forward to as you exercise faith in a faithless world.

To be a faithful disciple of Christ is to be happy!

%d bloggers like this: